Review: Cathay Pacific 507 777-300 Business Class Osaka Kansai to Hong Kong

Introduction
Dragonair G16 Lounge Hong Kong Airport
Cathay Pacific 596 A330-300 Business Class Hong Kong to Osaka Kansai
InterContinental Osaka Deluxe Twin
InterContinental Osaka Two Bedroom Superior Residence
InterContinental Osaka Two Bedroom Deluxe Residence
Japan Airlines Sakura Lounge Osaka Kansai Airport
Lounge Pacific Osaka Kansai Airport
Cathay Pacific 507 777-300 Business Class Osaka Kansai to Hong Kong


While this flight was originally scheduled to be operated by one of Cathay Pacific’s three-class 777-300ERs, a month out the equipment was swapped to one of Cathay Pacific’s 777-300s. As disappointing as that was, it was a smart move from Cathay Pacific, as their 777-300s have the highest capacity of any aircraft that the airline operates (including their 747s, which have less seats due to the amount of footprint flat bed business class seats take up). Nonetheless, I was excited to be on their regional business class product for the first time since 2014.

Cathay Pacific Flight 507
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Origin: Osaka Kansai (KIX) Gate: 5 Dep: 18:00 (18:00)
Destination: Hong Kong (HKG) Gate: 3 Arr: 20:55 (21:05)
Duration: 3 h 55 min (4 h 5 min)
Aircraft: Boeing 777-300
Seat: 18K (Business Class)

I was excited as I turned right through door 1L into the business class cabin. Cathay Pacific’s 777 regional business class cabins all consists of 42 seats, arranged in eight rows in a 2-3-2 configuration (row 11 only consists of seats D, E and G, while row 18 only consists of seats A, C, H and K).

Screen Shot 2016-07-18 at 21.14.17

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Cabin

I was welcomed by the inflight service manager (who I only saw twice throughout the flight – boarding and deplaning), and was pointed to my seat by the friendly purser, where I took a few photos of the empty cabin along the way.

DSCF6022

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Cabin

DSCF6023

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class

Are the seats underwhelming? Yes, they are, especially when expecting a reverse herringbone seat. But it’s not like I had a choice, so I was happy that I’d secured two window pairs.

DSCF6024

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Cabin

DSCF6025

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class

I reserved seats in the last two rows of the right side of the business class cabin, row 17 of which I gave to my father and my sister, 18H of which my mother sat in, and naturally, I gave myself 18K in the corner of the cabin.

DSCF6026

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Seats 17H, 17K, 18H, 18K

DSCF6033

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Seats 17H, 17K, 18H, 18K

My seat was located in the last row of the cabin, which meant better cabin pictures, on one hand…

DSCF6027

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Seats 18H and 18K

…but also one less window, which wasn’t mine so I was fine (I booked the seat as a last resort, so I was happy with one window).

DSCF6035

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Seat 18K

Before I settled down I took a few snaps of the economy cabin, which consisted of Cathay Pacific’s dreaded shell seats in a 3-3-3 configuration, so I was happy I wasn’t seated there.

DSCF6029

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Economy Class Cabin

DSCF6030

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Economy Class Cabin

Having another look at the cabin, the seats are jam-packed. It almost feels like a premium economy cabin for a business class price. While I’ve been in seven-across business class products, these seats weren’t even angled lie flat, so there really wasn’t anything I could do to relax.

DSCF6028

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class

It was empty, though, so I took a few more pictures before the cabin filled up (I really had no idea that I’d be on one in another couple of months).

DSCF6031

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class

DSCF6032

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class

I went back to my seat for some exploring, including looking at the intuitive seat controls, individually controlling the seat’s legrest, seatback and having a “takeoff/landing mode” setting (this isn’t to say “wow”, but rather that there weren’t other settings such as a “fully reclined” setting or anything).

DSCF6086

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Seat Controls

DSCF6042

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Seat Controls

The legroom was fine, but lacking compared to other business class cabins (especially the one I was originally booked in). It really feels like a premium economy product.

DSCF6041

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Legroom

The tray table folds up from the bottom of the seat, which is actually pretty practical, so no complaints there.

DSCF6043

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Tray Table (closed)

DSCF6044

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Tray Table

DSCF6105

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Tray Table

The power ports were located below the seat on the armrest, where each person has their individual power port.

DSCF6157

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Power Ports

In addition to universal power ports, there were also USB ports, so I can’t deny that the seat is well stocked for working.

DSCF6051

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Power Ports

There were also pockets for us to put our phones/camera (my camera was way too big for this), which I appreciated.

DSCF6052

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Phone Pockets

While blankets have to be requested, all these seats come with their signature red pillow, which complements the cabin (I can perfectly see why these pillows aren’t used for their much more “clunky” reverse herringbone seats, as these seats are laid out much “neater” albeit being much less comfortable).

DSCF6061

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Pillow

Each seat also features a nook handy for coats, though I’ve learned they’re not for glasses at all.

DSCF6054

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Coat Nook

On 2-3-2 configurations the attendant working the left aisle tends to serve the middle seat, so I was happy to be on the right side.

I watched from the aft right corner of the cabin as it filled up.

DSCF6036

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Cabin

DSCF6037

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Cabin

DSCF6038

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Cabin

DSCF6049

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Cabin

I mean, you have to love the overhead bins. They’re not slightly, but much larger than the old Airbus bins that can hold two luggages maximum.

DSCF6046

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Overhead Bins

The sun was starting to dip down showing its colours, but I knew the “real” sunset wouldn’t be until we were up in the air cruising.

DSCF6039

View from Window Osaka Kansai Airport

Shortly after I was seated the senior purser came by with some orange juice or champagne, which I took, obviously, the orange juice. I also requested a blanket which was shortly provided.

DSCF6056

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Drink

DSCF6040

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Blanket

There’s a bit less natural light at row 18, which definitely comes from the fact that there’s one less window. While it didn’t affect me, it definitely did feel weird (at least I still had one window to myself).

DSCF6045

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class View from Seat 18K

I also looked up, where the ceiling featured the signature curved 777 panels, which I’ve never stopped loving.

DSCF6047

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Overhead Panels

Shortly after my parents and sister boarded we were presented with hot towels. Nowadays I find it more of a trend that people wipe their face (I do it when we’re given heated antiseptics, especially in premium economy, but not with towels that can easily be reused).

DSCF6059

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Hot Towel

I was thrilled to see that the 777-300 featured a outside camera from the wheel – while it’s pretty low quality, it’s always nice to have multiple perspectives of takeoff and landing.

DSCF6060

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Wheel Camera

Parked next to us was an A330-300 that would be flying to Hong Kong a year after us. While I wouldn’t get to sample their regional product, at least they featured a fully flat bed.

DSCF6064

Cathay Pacific Airbus A330-300 Osaka Kansai

DSCF6066

View of Sun Setting Osaka Kansai Airport

When everyone boarded, both cabins were pretty much full. I had a look at the safety video, which is much more interesting, but it’s not like I haven’t seen the new video a dozen times before.

DSCF6067

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Safety Video

We pushed back around that time, pretty much exactly at 6 PM, and slowly made our way around the terminal to the runway.

DSCF6068

Views upon Taxiing Osaka Kansai

DSCF6069

Views upon Taxiing Osaka Kansai

DSCF6070

Views upon Taxiing Osaka Kansai

DSCF6071

Views upon Taxiing Osaka Kansai

DSCF6072

Views upon Taxiing Osaka Kansai

DSCF6073

Views upon Taxiing Osaka Kansai

DSCF6074

Views upon Taxiing Osaka Kansai

DSCF6075

Views upon Taxiing Osaka Kansai

We taxiied up to runway 24 in about ten minutes, where we started a takeoff roll that was expected for a 777 with probably 398 people.

DSCF6076

Views upon Taxiing Osaka Kansai

DSCF6077

Views upon Taxiing Osaka Kansai

Watch the sunset go as the camera keeps snapping here – it’s insanely beautiful.

DSCF6078

Views upon Takeoff Osaka Kansai

DSCF6079

Views upon Takeoff Osaka Kansai

DSCF6080

Views upon Takeoff Osaka Kansai

DSCF6081

Views upon Takeoff Osaka Kansai

DSCF6082

Views upon Takeoff Osaka Kansai

DSCF6083

Views upon Takeoff Osaka Kansai

DSCF6084

Views upon Takeoff Osaka Kansai

DSCF6085

Views upon Takeoff Osaka Kansai

DSCF6087

Views upon Takeoff Osaka Kansai

DSCF6088

Views upon Takeoff Osaka Kansai

DSCF6089

Views upon Takeoff Osaka Kansai

DSCF6090

Views upon Takeoff Osaka Kansai

We progressed along the night, and the sun kept going down, which made the sky look even prettier.

DSCF6096

Sunset Osaka to Hong Kong

DSCF6096

Sunset Osaka to Hong Kong

DSCF6101

Sunset Osaka to Hong Kong

After the sun went down, I proceeded to take all the photos I’d taken beforehand and stock them onto my computer. It’s much easier to do that with a camera card, compared to an iPhone.

I took a look at the dinner menu, which read as follows:

DSCF6100

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Dinner Menu

DSCF6102

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Dinner Menu

DSCF6103

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Dinner Menu

I ended up ordering an Oriental Breeze, which was promptly served by the senior purser. I don’t like the drink as such – I don’t really like rosewater – but I was really dehydrated, so anything was helping at this point.

DSCF6104

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Oriental Breeze

The cabin started to get into swing as the food was being taken out, as the crew started to get into their positions. The senior purser was on top of his game, and I really commend his efforts – if there’s one thing that makes up for a crap hard product, it’s good service.

DSCF6106

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Cabin

DSCF6111

View from Osaka to Hong Kong – Night Glow/Twilight

While I avoided soda on the flight, I was served nuts. While I love toasted “real” nuts, I just don’t like the “Japanese mix” as much served with wasabi nuts and all that, so I just had a few and passed.

DSCF6109

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Nuts

The appetiser was soon served, which consisted of a rather tasty duck with a mustard mayo that wasn’t too overpowering. It was served with a rather tasty salad (complete with a vinaigrette, of course) and some soba noodles, as is the norm on Cathay Pacific’s Japanese flights.

DSCF6113

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Appetiser – Roasted Duck, Pickled Ginger and Mustard Mayonnaise

It was served with some garlic bread (meh, but oh well).

DSCF6114

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Garlic Bread

Since I’d eaten in the lounge, I just went with the ling fish for the main, which was mediocre – while I liked the rice and the seasonal vegetables that went with it, the sauce was weird…

DSCF6117

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Main Course – Baked Ling Fish with Sansho Miso Sauce, Vegetable and Jasmine Rice

…and the fish was way over.

DSCF6118

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Main Course Ling Fish

My mother ordered the steak, which wasn’t much better – it was way overcooked and served with mediocre bell peppers.

DSCF6115

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Main Course – Grilled Australian Beef Tenderloin, French Bean, Capsicum, New Potato and Red Wine Sauce

DSCF6119

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Main Course – Steak

My sister also ordered the steak, which was medium-ish – much better, showing that the steaks were unevenly cooked.

DSCF6120

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Main Course – Steak

I ended the meal with dessert, which consisted of ice cream, which you can’t go wrong with – apart from the fact that it was rock hard.

DSCF6124

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Dessert – Ice Cream

The meal was finished two hours out of Hong Kong, which is a reasonable pace (I still get to rest, ish).

DSCF6123

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Meal Service Ends

Service during the meal was great – when the purser accidentally dropped a piece of fruit, I couldn’t help but chuckle a bit, and he didn’t take it personally. While I felt terrible, I couldn’t bring myself to apologise, so I just left it. (I wasn’t laughing at him dropping the piece of fruit – but rather his facial expression when he looked like the plane was going down.)

I briefly visited the lavatory after dinner, which is rather standard for a business class lavatory on Cathay Pacific.

DSCF6125

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Lavatory

DSCF6126

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Lavatory Amenities

DSCF6127

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Lavatory

DSCF6128

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Lavatory

I also had a look at the economy cabin for the first time in long, which consists of the dreaded shell seats which I haven’t sat in since 2014. They’re not terrible, but definitely a downgrade from the newer seats.

DSCF6129

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Economy Class

DSCF6130

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Economy Class

While I was intending to work on the flight, I felt really tired, so decided to nap until landing, so I did just that. While the seat definitely isn’t the best for that, it did go back pretty far, which I appreciated. I managed to sleep all the way.

DSCF6132

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Reclined Seat

We pulled into Hong Kong by 9 PM, and touched down ten minutes behind schedule, pulling straight into gate 3.

DSCF6142

View upon Descent Hong Kong

We descended seaside, so especially at night I couldn’t grab any decent pictures.

DSCF6146

View upon Descent Hong Kong

DSCF6148

View upon Touchdown Hong Kong

DSCF6151

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Business Class Cabin upon Landing

DSCF6153

View upon Taxiing Hong Kong

We were a few of the last in business class off the plane, but I couldn’t resist taking a picture of the 777-300, which we wouldn’t be on in a while (I want to say the regional cabin as well – but so I’d hoped).

DSCF6158

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777-300 Hong Kong Airport

Bottom Line

While it was definitely an underwhelming change from the 777-300ER, the crew definitely made the experience less bad. They weren’t perfect, but they definitely did the job better than most flight attendants I’ve had this year. That said, having an equipment swap expecting a world-class reverse herringbone seat is still quite a disappointment.

Bottom Line on B(r)oken on Cathay Pacific

boken means adventure in Japanese, for those who haven’t figured out yet. But overall, I got to try multiple rooms of an awesome hotel, as well as two rather contrasting business class products on Cathay Pacific, rounding off my list, basically (apart from the A350, which is coming next).

Thanks for sticking through with this trip report, and after my flight to Zurich in about half an hour, I’ll be starting the Taiwan trip report as well.

One thought on “Review: Cathay Pacific 507 777-300 Business Class Osaka Kansai to Hong Kong

Any thoughts?

