How Good Is Cathay Pacific’s Intra Asian Economy Service?

A while back, I flew from Hong Kong to Kuala Lumpur on Cathay Pacific. This was less than a week after my flight with “Mrs. F*ck Off”, who was the ISM aboard by Seoul to Hong Kong flight in Business. Given that I was in economy, not travelling with a person with status and not wearing something fancy (I was wearing a polo shirt on my last flight and now I’m wearing jeans and a t-shirt), I honestly thought before I boarded “how bad can things really get?”

unnamed-5

Cathay Pacific Airbus A330-300 Regional Economy Class

Well. A lot better, actually.

I was greeted by the Senior Purser who was extremely friendly and literally smiling as if she really meant it. This warm attitude persisted throughout the flight and I was literally welcomed by every single flight attendant in plain sight. Wowee.

giphy

 

The cabin crew were coming around the cabin during takeoff with offers to refill water bottles. When I requested a glass of water and added a small apology “sorry if it annoys you”, she gave me an alien look and said “of course!” When flight attendants with very little seniority and experience are better than those working in a higher cabin class in a supervising position, you know that something is wrong…

IMG_8695

Cathay Pacific Airbus A330-300 Economy Class Pre-Takeoff Drinks 

The overall flight service was also better with flight attendants offering drink runs, with nuts and all before the actual meal service. An old American couple seemed quite happy when they got the nuts, proudly exclaiming: “Oh my god! They have free food!”. The look on their faces when they saw that there was a larger meal service with main meals and more food that was free of charge was priceless.

IMG_8712

Cathay Pacific Airbus A330-300 Economy Class Meal

Service was also a lot better. The cabin crew serving my aisle, whose name was Chilli (not as hot as she sounded!) was absolutely fabulous. She was friendly and had such an amazing can do attitude that really impressed me. She literally walked through the entire cabin 10 or more times just to help us out, and she even gave me a survey with a Cathay Pacific branded pen. I couldn’t really find a moment throughout the flight where she wasn’t smiling. Can’t beat that!

I would rather take this over my business class flight from Seoul to Hong Kong recently because this flight actually made me feel good, instead of feeling like you’re bothering the crew by being on the flight.

unnamed-6

Cathay Pacific Airbus A330-300 Business Class Seat

 

The return was equally amazing if not even better… So this definitely isn’t a one off situation.

Bottom Line:

When service in economy on multiple occasions is better than service in business. Something is wrong.

Cathay Pacific…I love your airline…but this is just plain odd…

Any thoughts?

